Most of the 17 regional colleges are operated by groups of school boards, while the British Columbia Institute of Technology is maintained by the education department. The colleges conduct a variety of career and transfer programs, although some specialize in particular fields such as art or fashion design. BCIT provides career training only. As well as in hospital schools, students may earn nursing diplomas from BCIT and several community colleges.

The largest degree-granting institution, the University of British Columbia, has undergraduate and graduate programs in most major disciplines. There are three other universities and a number of colleges, most church-related. The universities are supervised by two regulatory bodies that advise the government on curriculum and finance. Another government-appointed board makes recommendations on development, co-ordination and financing of all types of post-secondary institutions.

Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories

7.4.11

Unlike the provincial governments that provide more than half the funds for education (virtually 100% in Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick and Newfoundland), in the Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories, federal sources predominate (64%). The territories' combined 1976-77 education expenditures of \$178.5 million exceeded only those of Prince Edward Island, but on a per capita basis they were \$858, higher than in any other part of the country.

Elementary and secondary enrolment in the Yukon Territory was 4,870 in 1976-77, and 12,920 in the Northwest Territories. There were 270 and 675 teachers, respectively.

Neither region has post-secondary institutions.

The Yukon school system is administered by the territorial education department. The School Ordinance of 1962 recognized three types of school: public, separate and Indian. However, since the closing of the last Indian school in 1969, all native children have gone to public or separate schools. Attendance is compulsory from ages 7 to 16. Grades 1 to 12 follow the British Columbia organization and curriculum. Some secondary schools give commercial and technical courses, and advanced trades and technical training is available at the Yukon Vocational and Technical Training Centre. An aid program allows students to continue at the post-secondary level in one of the provinces.

In the Northwest Territories responsibility for education was transferred in 1969 and 1970 from the federal Indian and northern affairs department to the Territorial Council. The ages of compulsory attendance are 6 to 16. The region has developed its own curriculum, covering six elementary and four secondary grades. Because high schools are located only in the larger centres, residential facilities are available for children from outside the community. Some vocational training, too, is given in urban areas. As is the practice in the Yukon, the Territorial Council operates aid programs for students who wish to attend a post-secondary institution in another part of the country.

Council of Ministers of Education

7.4.12

An interprovincial council of ministers of education was established to facilitate cooperative action at the policy level by allowing the provinces to negotiate collectively with the federal government. The council grew out of discussions held in a standing committee of ministers of education established in 1960. An agreed memorandum was adopted in 1967 and amplified in 1974. The stated purpose of the council is to enable ministers of education to consult and act together on common interests. Provision is also made for consultation with other educational organizations. The council adheres to the principle that provincial ministries must remain autonomous; hence, no recommendation or decision is binding. Meetings are held at least twice a year. The council appoints an executive committee consisting of a chairman, vice-chairman and three other members representing all regions of the country.

Maritime Provinces Higher Education Commission

7.4.13

During the 1960s each of the Maritime provinces - Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island - appointed special committees or commissions to make